Appointment of Merlin’s New Board

In News by Merlin Team

by Thomas Drone
Friday, Nov 15th 2013 at 10:04AM

Merlin, the global rights agency for the independent label sector, has announced the results of its biennial board election.

The vote attracted the highest ever number of candidates, with Merlin members determining the make-up of the 15-seat board.

Seats are divided into three territorial blocs, with equal representation given to North America, Europe and ROW.

Among those reappointed are Beggars Group founder Martin Mills (pictured) who will continue as Merlin chairman, as well as a range of senior executives from world-renowned independent companies as listed.

Meanwhile Erik Gilbert (Essential Music & Marketing USA) and Ashley Whitfield (Evolution Music Hong Kong) both join the board for the first time.

Non-voting observers added to the North America and Europe blocs are Kris Gillespie (Domino Recording Co, USA), Darius Van Arman (Dead Oceans/Jagjaguwar/Numero Group/Secretly Canadian, USA) Emmanuel de Buretel (Because Music, France) and Oke Goettlich (Finetunes, Germany). No observers have currently been added for the ROW.

The board will sit for two years. Alison Wenham, president of WIN represents companies in all ROW countries not represented on the board.

“That this election attracted such strong candidate numbers, representing some of the world’s most important music companies, is testament to Merlin’s standing within the independent community,” said Merlin CEO Charles Caldas.

“We were founded as a truly global operation, a fact reflected in the make-up of our board, and I am honoured to lead an organisation that draws together such experience and expertise.”


Erik Brataas – Phonofile (Norway)

Michel Lambot – PIAS Group (Belgium)

Martin Mills – Beggars Group (UK)

Florian von Hoyer – Altafonte (Spain)

Horst Weidenmueller – !K7 (Germany)

Non-voting observers:

Emmanuel de Buretel – Because Music (France)

Oke Goettlich – Finetunes (Germany)


Glenn Dicker – Redeye Distribution and Yep Roc Records – (USA)

Erik Gilbert – Essential Music and Marketing (USA)

Dave Hansen – Epitaph  (USA)

Geoff Kulawick – IDLA (Canada)

Tom Silverman – Tommy Boy (USA)

Non-voting observers:

Kris Gillespie – Domino Recording Co (USA)

Darius Van Arman – Dead Oceans/Jagjaguwar/Numero Group/Secretly Canadian (USA)


Colin Daniels – Inertia (Aus)

Hilton Roth – African Dope – (South Africa)

Luciana Pegorer – Delira Musica (Brazil)

Ashley Whitfield – Evolution Music (Hong Kong)

Alison Wenham – WIN

Original source article can be found here.

Share this Post